修頓遊樂場(正門及觀眾看台内墻);稅務大樓 (地下東側入口);香港藝術中心(面向告士打道外牆);動漫基地(周邊五支燈柱)
2017.11.1 - 2019.03.31

曹志豪、姜智傑、羅浩光、多利、麥家碧、文地貓、彭康兒及黃照逹

漫遊城市—灣仔

更多
分享

關於項目

_

灣仔與香港動漫淵源深厚,不少本地動漫畫家都曾經在灣仔打拼他們的事業,而全港首個以動漫為主題的藝術社區—動漫基地亦位於灣仔。

這個金秋,香港藝術中心聯手動漫基地推出『漫遊城市—灣仔』,把灣仔多個日常的公共空間轉變為邂逅動漫的樂趣街角。項目邀請八位知名及年輕本土動漫畫家組隊合作,將灣仔區內四處各具特色的公共空間串聯為動漫集群,用漫畫講述灣仔的過去、現在與未來,亦希望藉此加強推廣灣仔成為本地的動漫地標。

本地設計和插畫師羅浩光在由歷史建築活化而成的動漫基地的周圍,用漫畫裝飾了五支街邊燈柱。畫中以垂釣的漁翁象徵日、月、星街一帶寧靜的社區,他在靜靜地欣賞灣仔熱鬧的街巷與海濱。往北走,漫畫家曹志豪、文地貓及Bonnie Pang將修頓遊樂場的觀眾看台內牆和正門,打造為展現灣仔街道風貌和日常生活的舞台。

沿著告士打道,漫畫家黃照達和多利攜手以灣仔多元的城市景觀裝點稅務大樓地下的東側入口。無論是有著濃厚歷史氣息的電車和茶樓,抑或是充滿強烈現代風格的香港演藝學院及香港會議展覽中心等,都給予黃照達和多利創作的靈感。他們以電車軌串連灣仔區內六個場景,用漫畫展現灣仔南至灣仔北的風景變化。

在稅務大樓的另一邊,資深漫畫家麥家碧和姜智傑聯手,將理想中的綠色灣仔山頭搬上了香港藝術中心的外牆,他們筆下最出名的漫畫人物麥兜和森巴也歡快地嬉戲於其中。

『漫遊城市—灣仔』不僅是本土漫畫人向本地及國際觀眾展示的公共平台,也是一個獨特的社區和拓展項目。項目將面向社區開展一系列的工作坊,增進動漫界、不同社會群體及市民大眾之間的交流,提升各界對公共藝術的認知,並將動漫注入城市的日常生活。

設有公共藝術的地點:
1. 動漫基地(周邊五支燈柱)(展期至2018年7月)
2. 修頓遊樂場(軒尼詩道正門外牆和內牆及觀眾看台内牆)(展期至2019年3月)
3. 稅務大樓(地下東側入口)(展期至2018年7月)
4. 香港藝術中心(面向告士打道的外牆)(展期至2018年7月)

關於藝術家

_

麥家碧

畢業於香港理工大學設計系。後與澳洲著名兒童故事作家Margaret Wild合作,推出首本個人作品“Belinda’s Blanket”。其後與謝立文共同創作麥嘜第一本漫畫故事書《成年人童話》並創辦兒童刊物《黃巴士》,先後共出版麥嘜麥兜系列圖書逾200本,各式譯本亦發行至中、台、日、韓、及法國等地。她同時為麥兜系列動畫擔任美術總監,參與的電影多次榮獲國際影展及獎項肯定。

姜智傑

修讀插畫設計課程出身,自1999 年奪得正文社的漫畫新秀賞起,陸續於 COCO!漫畫雜誌推出多部漫畫作品,作品以輕鬆惹笑為題,是香港最受歡的兒童漫畫家之一;其中「森巴」系列至今已連載超過十年,曾授權內地及新加坡推出簡體中文及英文版本,2008年更奪得中國第4屆金龍獎原創動漫藝術大賽–最佳兒童漫畫獎,2015年獲香港藝術中心邀請成為其中一位香港代表到法國參加安古蘭國際漫畫節,2016年森巴獲選為香港漫畫星光大道新增角色之一。

黃照達

漫畫家及媒體藝術家。1996年畢業於香港中文大學藝術系,2002年於倫敦修畢互動數碼媒體碩士課程。2004年回港後於香港城市大學創意媒體學院出任導師,及後擔任本地互動媒體設計公司美術總監一職 。期間開始替報章創作漫畫及插圖,並於2007開始於《明報》連載其漫畫專欄〈嘰嘰格格〉,題材以時事政治為主。現為香港某新媒體藝團之藝術總監及浸會大學視覺藝術院助理教授。

多利

八十年代末生於香港的多利,剛巧抓住了流星的尾巴。畢業於香港浸會大學,主修數碼圖像傳播,副修視覺藝術。初中開始同人漫畫創作,每年於原創漫畫組織「閃亮大陸Shineland」繪畫短篇漫畫作品,畢業後任職動畫師。2013年起在「熱血少年」雜誌連載漫畫和專欄,並在臉書設專頁「多利繪」。

文地貓

香港本地著名插畫師,早年於香港浸會大學傳理系畢業,後投身雜誌界,曾擔任記者及編輯,同時亦於各大報章雜誌畫畫。近年脫離打工仔行列,成為全職插畫家。於2000年開始,文地貓亦先後替多本雜誌及多個網站寫寫畫畫,其刊出之作品多以打工心情和生活感受為主。2015年參加法國安古蘭漫畫展 。

曹志豪

1990年代出道,曾服務於文化傳信、天下出版社、玉皇朝等各大漫畫機構。主編包括《靈周刊》、《Love Cycle》、《吸血鬼獵人》、《Biohazard 3》、《邪神》、《神兵F》、《死角》、《殺手。無與倫比的自由》等作品。2013年,其作品《殺手。無與倫比的自由》獲雜誌《Ani-wave》以一人一票,評選為「全年最佳漫畫」和「最佳男主角」兩項大獎。2014年,他獲得「澳門金蓮花獎」和「最佳小說改編漫畫獎」。2015年,曹志豪獲選為「全港十大漫畫家」之一。

彭康兒

香港新一代插畫家及漫畫家。2012年畢業於香港中文大學地理系,2016年修畢美國舊金山藝術大學碩士。曾擔任動畫原畫師,其後主要創作漫畫及插畫。2015年凴窩心日常漫畫《Roar StreetJournal》獲得Line Webtoons國際網絡漫畫比賽季軍,連載至今,讀者遍佈世界各地。現為自由創作人,主要繪畫歐美童書插畫及漫畫《Roar Street Journal》。

羅浩光

2008年畢業於香港藝術學院傳意設計系。創作風格偏好圍繞空間去想像和探究藝術的可能性。2013年以插畫師身份受邀參加日本“瀨戶國際藝術祭之Fukutake House亞洲藝術平台”。2016年參與香港國際機場的動漫展都市群展,並於同年在元創方舉辦配合擴增實境技術的個人互動展覽「LONG TIME NO SEE: 左鄰右里∙虛擬再聚」。現以自由工作者身份從事設計和繪圖插畫工作。


關鍵詞:
香港
室外
掛牆
聯絡我們

香港公共藝術
香港灣仔港灣道2號
(852) 2582 0280
[email protected]

執行機構
合作機構
Copyright 2016 Public Art Hong Kong. All rights reserved.
Design & frontend by szs. Backend by BBI - Breaking Bad Interactive.

Southorn Playground (Entrance and one of the interior walls); Revenue Tower (East entrance on the Ground Floor); Hong Kong Arts Centre (Exterior wall facing Gloucester Road); Comix Home Base (5 neighbouring lampposts)
November 1, 2017 - March 31, 2019

Jerry Cho, Keung Chi Kit, Bo Law, Dolly Lee, Alice Mak, Mandycat, Bonnie Pang and Justin Wong

Comixstream in the City – Wan Chai

Next project
SHARE

About the project

_

Wan Chai is the cradle of Hong Kong’s animation and comics (ani-com) industry, with many local ani-com artists started their career here. It is also the home of Hong Kong’s first art community featuring ani-com – Comix Home Base.

This autumn, Hong Kong Arts Centre and Comix Home Base present Comixtream in the City – Wan Chai, a project that transforms the district’s public spaces into exciting ani-com encounters. Eight local veteran and upcoming ani-com artists collaborate to bring comics art to four distinctive locations, forming a comics cluster that celebrates Wan Chai’s past, present and imagines its future, also promoting Wan Chai as an ani-com landmark in Hong Kong.

Surrounding the now revitalised heritage Comix Home Base are five lampposts decorated by local designer and illustrator Bo Law, whose work personify the tranquil neighbourhood of Sun, Moon and Star Streets as an old angler overlooking Wan Chai’s vibrant streets and waterfront. North to them, comics artists Jerry Cho, Mandycat and Bonnie Pang have transformed Southorn Playground into a comic showcase of Wan Chai’s street scenes and everyday life.

Along Gloucester Road, comics artist Justin Wong has worked together with Dolly Lee to bring the area’s diverse cityscape – from the historical tramway and traditional teahouses to the modern architecture such as Hong Kong Academy of Performing Arts and the Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre – to the East entrance of the Revenue Tower. Six distinctive scenes of Wan Chai, connected by the tramway, are featured above the entrance to show the change of landscape from Wan Chai South to Wan Chai North.

On an exterior wall outside the building of Hong Kong Arts Centre, local comics veterans Alice Mak and Keung Chi Kit envision a green “Wan Chai Hill” in their collaborative work. Their famous comics characters, McDull and Samba, are having a cheerful stroll on the Hill.

Comixtream in the City – Wan Chai, not only serves as a public platform for local comics artists to gain exposure to local and international audience, but also acts as a unique community and outreach project. A series of workshops will be held to engage diverse communities and strengthen the exchanges among ani-com artists, different social groups and the general public, raising awareness of public art and bringing comics into the city’s daily lives.

Locations of public artwork:
1.      Comix Home Base (5 neighbouring lampposts) (On display till July 2018)
2.      Southorn Playground (Entrance and one of the interior walls) (On display till Mar 2019)
3.      Revenue Tower (East entrance on the Ground Floor)(On display till July 2018)
4.      Hong Kong Arts Centre (Exterior wall facing Gloucester Road) (On display till July 2018)

About the artist

_

Alice Mak

Graduated from the School of Design at the Polytechnic University. She started her creative journey by launching her first illustration work, “Belinda’s Blanket”, written by the renowned children writer Margaret WILD. She later co-created the McMug series with Brian TSE and published “Fairy Tales for the Adults”, started a children’s magazine Yellow Bus Magazine. Her accumulated publications are more than 200 pieces; many of them were translated and published overseas, e.g. mainland China, Taiwan, Japan, and South Korea, France. Alice is also the art director of Mcdull feature series, which has gained popularity and award recognition.

Keung Chi Kit

Having taken illustration courses, Chi Kit received the rising star award from local comics publisher Rightman in 1999. Since then, he has published various works in Co-co! Magazine. Known for his humorous style, Chi Kit is one of Hong Kong’s most popular artists for children’s comics. His Samba stories have been serialized for more than ten years and published in both Mainland China and Singapore. In 2016, Samba became the newest character to join Hong Kong Avenue of Comic Stars.

Justin Wong

Justin Wong is a comics writer and media artist. He received his BA (Fine Arts) from the Chinese University of Hong Kong in 1996 and his MA from Ravensbourne College of Design and Communication in London. Upon his return to Hong Kong in 2004, he taught in City University of Hong Kong and worked in an interactive media design company. In 2007, he started his political comic column Gei Gei Gaak Gaak on Ming Pao Daily News. He currently works as artistic director of a new media art group and Assistant Professor in the Academy of Visual Arts in Hong Kong Baptist University.

Dolly Lee

Dolly was born in the late 1980s. She graduated from Hong Kong Baptist University with major in Digital Graphic Communication and minor in Visual Arts. She started drawing comics since secondary school and published works annually with local comics group “Shineland”. She has been a full-time animator for 5 years and works as game art director and comics artist on several platforms.

Mandycat

Mandycat graduated from Hong Kong Baptist University with a degree in Public Relations & Adverstising. She had worked for various magazines in Hong Kong. Since 2000, her comics and columns have appeared on different media platforms. Cats, love, relationships, office life and silly things are Mandycat’s favourite topics. In 2015, she attended the Angoulême International Comics Festival in France.

Jerry Cho

Local comics veteran Jerry Cho joined the industry in the 1990s, serving major comics publishing companies such as Culturecom, Jonesky Limited, and Jade Dynasty Limited. He edited works such as Spirit Weekly, Love Cycle, Journal of the Vampire Hunter, Biohazard 3, The Wicked, Amazing Weapons F, Dead Space, and Killer. In 2013, Cho’s work Killer was awarded The Best Comics of the Year and The Best Actor by the magazine Ani-wave, according to the result of one man one vote. In 2014, he received the Macau Golden Lotus Award and The Best Comics Adaption from Fiction Award. In 2015, he was selected as one of The 10 Best Hong Kong Comics Artists.

Bonnie Pang

In 2012 Bonnie graduated from The Chinese University of Hong Kong in Geography, then in 2016 obtained a Master in Fine Arts (Illustration) at The Academy of Art University, San Francisco, USA. After working as an animation concept artist, she pursued her interests in comics and book illustrations. In 2015, her heart-warming webcomic “Roar Street Journal” won third place in Line Webtoon’s international contest. Bonnie is currently a full-time comic artist and children’s book illustrator.

Bo Law

Bo Law is a Hong Kong-based freelance designer and illustrator. He is always inspired by the living environment around him and his paintings often feature the cityscape of Hong Kong. In 2013, Law participated in Fukutake House exhibition at Setouchi Triennale. In 2016, his work was included in the “Comixhibition and the City” project at Hong Kong International Airport. In the same year, he presented an Augmented Reality (AR) supplemented interactive exhibition “LONG TIME NO SEE: A Virtual Encounter with Neighbourly Nostalgia” in PMQ.


Project tags:
hong-kong-arts-centre
local
outdoor
wall-mounted
Next project
Contact Us

Public Art Hong Kong
2 Harbour Road, Wan Chai,
Hong Kong
(852) 2582 0280
[email protected]

Executing Organization
Partner Organization
Copyright 2016 Public Art Hong Kong. All rights reserved.
Design & frontend by szs. Backend by BBI - Breaking Bad Interactive.